THE Cookin Monster

The sound of Gambia : Peanut butter sauce with chicken

You say you never heard that peanut butter can be used to make sauce? That you use it only on bread with jam ? Well I never heard it too and I dont even like peanut butter on bread.. but my friend from Gambia once told me that he cooked it and I asked for the recipe… frankly I thought that it will be such a weird combination spices and peanut butter and what not .. and it took me while to make up courrage to try it .. I dont know why maybe i just needed time to come to terms with the fact that you can make sauce from something like peanut butter πŸ˜€

Ánd what a good one is that πŸ˜€ and to tell you the truth this repice open many doors to many interesting and yummi looking recipes all with peanut butter which I am looking forward to try as soon as possible πŸ˜€ actually I will try some this weekend ( hint for the next articles maybe? πŸ˜€ )

anyways lets get to the important stuff the recipe … which actually is pretty easy and quick and the result is good πŸ™‚

First you need to prepare all ayou will need …

Tomotoes whole and tomatoe pure too

onions

peanut butter – Β you are probably like “what else it is PEANUT butter sauces” πŸ˜€

then vegetable stock – I admit that I did not have time to make homemade one so I used instant but it is from Bio store πŸ™‚

chilli peppers

carrot

pumpkin, sweet potatoe or zuchini whiever is fine πŸ™‚ what you have you can use

cayen pepper

and chicken – you can either you legs like me or breasts but in that case I would cut them into pieces πŸ™‚

66271deb-6def-4bec-9980-71782a733204wallpaperSeason the meat with the pepper and salt and put it on the frying pan so it wil get somewhat golden color πŸ™‚

db17e016-52a9-4197-854f-8f2f265819b3wallpaper

 

In the mean time prepare all the vegies – cut the carrot and cuzichini or potatoes if you have those and also the tomatoes and onion… I was lazy so instead of cutting up the two tomatoes and onion into tiny pieces I cut it to bits and use food processor and made it into sort of pure …

224c5d1f-37d6-42b9-bb00-045a71d3442fwallpaper

 

Now add the tomatoe pure and peanut butter and add water or stock – I used 3 to 4 cups and stir and let cook. You have to stir from time to time because the sauce can be thick and stick to the pan. If the sauce is thicker add water and if it is too watery lat is cook longer…

I cookit for around hour or a bit more so the meat is almost but not completaly falling of the bones πŸ™‚ (easier to eat then πŸ™‚ )

You can add as much of the chilli as you want – if you like spicy you can make it spicier if not add a bit less πŸ™‚

You can eat it with rice or cous cous πŸ™‚

16b87827-ea75-4066-9dc1-168d80237761wallpaper

 

This time you can enjoy the taste of Gambia πŸ™‚

and maybe like me discover new great inderdient – PEANUT BUTTER πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

